FPL Set Piece Takers

Here are the set piece takers for all 20 Premier League teams. These include each team’s FPL penalty takers and free kick takers.

All Fantasy Premier League set piece takers are predicted using each club’s most recent penalty kicks as an indication. Whether the player missed and other factors are also considered.

Updated: 26 September 2021

Team Penalty Takers Free Kick Takers
Arsenal Aubameyang, Lacazette, Pepe Pepe, Willian, Xhaka
Aston Villa El-Ghazi, Ings Bailey, Buendia, El-Ghazi, Traore
Brentford Toney, Forss Jensen, Toney, Canos
Brighton Gross, Maupay March, Gross, Dunk
Burnley Wood, Barnes Gudmundsson, Brownhill, McNeil
Chelsea Jorginho, Lukaku, Mount Alonso, Mount, Chilwell
Crystal Palace Zaha, Milivojevic Milivojevic, Eze
Everton Calvert-Lewin, Townsend, Richarlison Rodriguez, Digne, Townsend
Leeds Bamford, Klich Raphina, Phillips, Rodrigo
Leicester Vardy, Tielemans, Iheanacho Maddison, Bertrand, Albrighton
Liverpool Salah, Milner, Mane TAA, Robertson, Salah
Man City Mahrez, De Bruyne, Rodri De Bruyne, Mahrez, Gundogan
Man Utd Ronaldo, Fernandes, Cavani Fernandes, Shaw
Newcastle Wilson, Ritchie Shelvey, Ritchie
Norwich Pukki, Hugill Gilmour, Dowell, Placheta
Southampton Ward-Prowse Ward-Prowse
Tottenham Kane, Alli, Son Son, Kane
Watford Sarr, Pedro Cleverley, Sema, Hughes
West Ham Noble, Benrahma, Antonio Cresswell, Benrahma, Bowen
Wolves Jimenez, Neves Moutinho, Neves

As many of you know, set piece takers constantly change throughout the season. The table above will be updated as and when new information becomes available.

Set Piece Takers Importance

We all know the difference set piece takers make to Fantasy Premier League teams. They play an important role in the decision making process behind fantasy teams.

After all, if you’re torn between two FPL assets and one of them is the designated penalty taker then this will likely sway your decision.

Penalty takers may play a less prominent role in the 2021/22 FPL season as VAR now has stricter rules when awarded penalties.

Premier League Penalty History

Here are the number of penalties awarded, scored and the conversation rate from past Premier League season:

Season Penalties Awarded Penalties Scored Conversation Rate
2020/21 125 102 82%
2019/20 92 72 78%
2018/19 103 84 80%
2017/18 80 56 70%
2016/17 101 81 76%

2020/21 Season

The 2020/21 Premier League season provided the increase in penalties many had expected when VAR was first introduced.

125 penalties were awarded in the 2020/21 Premier League season and of those 102 were scored – an 82% conversion rate.

With a stronger eye being kept on making sure goalkeepers stay on their line, an improvement on penalty taking (or both), penalties have become even more important.

Leicester and Man Utd led the way for penalty awards having taken 10 each. Chelsea had 8 spot kicks while West Ham only had 2.

2019/20 Season

The introduction of VAR had expected to increase the penalty count. However, this wasn’t the case.

There were 92 penalties awarded in the 2019/20 Premier League season, of which 72 were scored. That’s a 78% conversion rate.

Man Utd were awarded the most for a second campaign running. They scored 10 of their 14. Man City had the second most penalties with 11 but only scored 6 of them!

Everton, Newcastle and Sheff Utd had the fewest with one each. Newcastle missed that one penalty, meaning they were the only team in the 19/20 season to not score a penalty.

2018/19 Season

103 penalties were awarded in the 2018/19 Premier League season with 84 of them scored, according to Transfermarkt. This means just under 80% were converted.

Man Utd were awarded the most but having only scored 75% of them, it was Crystal Palace who scored the most with 11.

Watford were only awarded one penalty all season while, notably, Liverpool scored all 7 of theirs.

2017/18 Season

The 2017/18 Premier League season only saw 80 penalties given. Only 56 of these were scored. This means the penalty success rate was 70%, a drop compared to previous seasons.

Luka Milivojevic lead the way with 7 successful penalties whilst Jamie Vardy came in second place with 5 converted spot kicks.

2016/17 Season

In the 2016/17 Premier League season there were 106 penalty kicks in the Premier League, 81 of which were scored. That’s a 76% success rate.

James Milner and Harry Kane scored 8 and 6 penalties respectively. That’s a difference of 40 and 24 points before you take into account any bonus points.